I ventured off from my summer work, I just wasn't happy with what I created. Masonite was a difficult surface to draw on or use watercolor so I switched to wood and paper. Through these works I found out that I like to stick to neutral colors, nothing too bright or bold unless it’s a single color. I tried things from realistic drawings, to watercolor, to paintings but I just haven’t had that piece that I’m really excited about. 

Peers thought that my piece with nails was the most interesting, it’s definitely darker and different from what I usually create. I was also told to keep going with the tight detail over the watercolor. Another person said to continue my style of drawing.

I had the most fun hammering nails and I liked the outcome of that piece the most. I think I could create something visually pleasing with nails. I want to work on a bigger piece of wood and use neutral colors.




Leave a Reply.