One night I was going through my dad’s shelf of nails and screws and decided to do something with them. There were different colors, different types, different sizes, different brands- the amount was endless. Instead of hammering each nail down, I took an easier approach by gluing them which backfired because it still took multiple hours. Even though the colors were unplanned, I like how it’s a neutral pallet because I didn’t want it to take away from the overall design. My wish is for people to look at this and want to hang it up in their home. 

 Peers like the direction I’m going in with a new take on nails. I was told to make some nails rusty and plays with their colors. They also liked having a plain background, nothing to distract from the nails.

For my next piece I want to make a pattern with nails. I like repetition in a large scale, something to make you feel lost. My plan is to make something more 3-D where it looks different at all angles.




Leave a Reply.